Week 20 Roundup

Sunday 24 May 2009, 11.45am HKT


[Roundup for the week of 18-24 May 2009]

“The biggest problem, and it’s taken me a while to work this out, because all the other problems are so vast and so cancerous, is the gearbox. For reasons known only to itself, Honda has fitted the Insight with something called constantly variable transmission (CVT).”

(via Jeremy Clarkson, The Sunday Times, on the new Honda Insight hybrid car, 17 May 2009)

* * *

“I’m a relatively private individual. I keep a small circle of friends who I trust. I tend to have an allergic reaction to big groups because of its impersonal nature. I am very impulsive…which is typical for people my age. I can be compassionate to a fault. In spite of these faults, I find my gift for gab my most redeeming quality.”

(24-year-old English-speaking local lady, Tsuen Wan, 21 May 2009)

* * *

” It’s not a long fall off a pancake.”

(Exchange floor trader, 23 May 2009)

* * *

“This is the end of ‘gotcha banking’ in America.”

(Gail Hillebrand, an attorney from Consumer Union, on the so-called Credit Card Bill of Rights, 23 May 2009)

* * *

“No, it’s better to have a rule than to sue them outright after the fact.”

* * *

“Be a professional, take the high road.”

* * *

“Think of yourself as a robot newly come out from the factory. How would you write your sales features list? How would others write the same about you?”

(4.10am, 23 May 2009)

Comments are closed.

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

Lipsync Lawyer

Stop bitching and know your law differently

Daring Fireball

Hearing ordinary lives talk

Girl in Florence

A Tuscan Texan immersed in Florentine life: passionate about food & wine | random moments | and travel

One Drawing Daily

I've been drawing and painting and learning (almost) every day since the 9th September 2014

An English Man In SF

a diary of life as an immigrant

MB Forde

Ghosts, Legends, Folklore and Writing

Motorcycling in Hong Kong

On two wheels in Asia's World City

Tinkerbelle

Making her way back to Neverland one day at a time...

The Naked Listener's Weblog

Hearing ordinary lives talk

Basti in China

Random stuff from Hong Kong and China

Making Maps: DIY Cartography

Resources and Ideas for Making Maps

Pointless Diagrams

A new, meaningless diagram drawn daily, just 'cause.

This Blog Needs Words

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The London Column

Reports from the life of a city, from 1951 to now, compiled by David Secombe

Vintagerock's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

