The more meaningful tributes to S.J.

Friday 7 October 2011, 2.32am HKT


LIFE is slowly shutting down for all of us.

Let’s face it, death “is the greatest invention of Life,” Steve Jobs said in his 2005 Stanford University graduation speech, because “It clears out the old and brings in the new.”

The guy was amazing. Even in death, he managed to turn his death announcement into an Apple product — a kind of iDied new product launch.

Here is a small sampling of tributes floating around the underbelly of the Intarwebz, and I think these are more meaningful, more passionate, more human, than the standard, corporatised, sanitised fare we’ve been getting all day today.

One simple company announcement (rather than a run-of-the-mill effort from his family and friends), a picture on the Apple.com website — S.J. lets us figure out our emotions ourselves about his passing: the ultimate user-friendliness — and every Apple product henceforth will forever be even more associated with Steve Jobs.

The iWhatevers we have in our hands right now — they will be the only ones directly connected with Steve Jobs. Machines that Steve Jobs were directly responsible for. Machines that are now automatically Steve Jobs relics.

It’s just like that scary “A.I. Artificial Intelligence” movie (2001) where alien robots described the boy robot as being the last machine to ever see human beings in the flesh. In the same way, our iWhatevers are machines that had S.J. responsible for them in the flesh.

Who else could you name that even detractors pay tribute? Even haters were saddened.

Talk about a talent for iconocism.

Who else can you think of in the tech or business world would get even 10% of the same kind of tribute? Enough said.

S.J.’s been right about a lot of things…

* * *

All around me are familiar faces
Worn out places, worn out faces
Bright and early for their daily races
Going nowhere, going nowhere
Their tears are filling up their glasses
No expression, no expression
Hide my head I want to drown my sorrow
No tomorrow, no tomorrow

And I find it kinda funny
I find it kinda sad
The dreams in which I’m dying
Are the best I’ve ever had
I find it hard to tell you
I find it hard to take
When people run in circles
It’s a very, very mad world, mad world

(Lyrics to “Mad World” by Gary Jules)

* * *

Shameless trivia:

The first-ever computer used by The Naked Listener was an Apple II.
So S.J. remains personally meaningful to The Naked Listener.

Yes, respectfully, 12-point black borders.

Images via 4c, apina, c4c, Facebook, etc. Lyrics via azlyrics.

© The Naked Listener’s Weblog, 2011.

2 Responses to “The more meaningful tributes to S.J.”

  1. Ed Hurst said

    I started with DOS. From what little I saw of it, I thought NeXT was really cool. When I get sick of Linux, I’ll probably switch to BSD. Unix works like I do.

    Like

    • Yeah, I know what you mean. I started with DOS too. Then I went on to OS/2 and just carried on to Windows. The reality is that all the OSes are just means to an end – they’re just to get the work done. Frankly, I’d rather ride my motorbike in my free time.

      Like

Comments are closed.

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

Lipsync Lawyer

Stop bitching and know your law differently

Daring Fireball

Hearing ordinary lives talk

Girl in Florence

A Tuscan Texan immersed in Florentine life: passionate about food & wine | random moments | and travel

One Drawing Daily

I've been drawing and painting and learning (almost) every day since the 9th September 2014

An English Man In SF

a diary of life as an immigrant

MB Forde

Ghosts, Legends, Folklore and Writing

Motorcycling in Hong Kong

On two wheels in Asia's World City

Tinkerbelle

Making her way back to Neverland one day at a time...

The Naked Listener's Weblog

Hearing ordinary lives talk

Basti in China

Random stuff from Hong Kong and China

Making Maps: DIY Cartography

Resources and Ideas for Making Maps

Pointless Diagrams

A new, meaningless diagram drawn daily, just 'cause.

This Blog Needs Words

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The London Column

Reports from the life of a city, from 1951 to now, compiled by David Secombe

Vintagerock's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

