Say ‘Happy Birthday’ to me!

Thursday 23 January 2014, 5.18am HKT


4.30am local time, 12°C (53°F), cool and fine

IT was my birthday on Monday, 20th January. I won’t tell you how old I am because my brain is 66% female and it’s not done to ask females their age.

me birthday sfx 2014 0120 DSC1974

My fast disappearing eyebrows make me look like an angry rabbit

Okay, I’m not sex-changed or anything like that, but you get the point.

I also have a habit of delaying my birthday announcements and I don’t celebrate it with any kind of fanfare, in case all of you didn’t notice.

Let’s say I’m old enough to be in SOME position use the words “back in my day” without being challenged on most occasions.

I was born at 21.15 hours (9.15pm) Hong Kong time at night — some say I was born last night. I wouldn’t mind that at all, quite frankly.

“It’s your birthday today?”

“Yup.”

“What’s your birthday wish? Go on…”

“More birthdays, and happier ones.”

That’s all anyone could wish for, no?

MX Cafe, Hong Kong

My birthday meal was at Maxim’s (a.k.a. MX Cafe), which is sort of a Hong Kong Chinese version of McDonald’s but with real cooked food instead of artificially inseminated fast-food crap.

I had a mixed grill on hotplate with chowder soup à la française, which was actually quite French, surprise, surprise. Priced HK$48, or US$6.19 or £3.73.

Forgot to take pictures of the meal, sorry.

The best birthday present?

A Facebook message from Severine L. lately of London and now:—

“Lots of love from Paris.”

_____

ABOUT | CONTACT | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | SISTER BLOG | POLICY & LEGAL

© The Naked Listener’s Weblog, 2014. (B14035)

7 Responses to “Say ‘Happy Birthday’ to me!”

  1. lawmrh said

    Happy post-Birthday good wishes! Good health to you and may you have many more.
    – Mo

    Like

  2. Ed Hurst said

    It’s a tough job surviving long enough to verbally hammer down young fools, but it is such an important burden we bear. Felicitations.

    Like

  3. Happy Birthday, Naked Listener! Lots of love from Brooklyn!

    Like

Comments are closed.

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

Lipsync Lawyer

Stop bitching and know your law differently

Daring Fireball

Hearing ordinary lives talk

Girl in Florence

A Tuscan Texan immersed in Florentine life: passionate about food & wine | random moments | and travel

One Drawing Daily

I've been drawing and painting and learning (almost) every day since the 9th September 2014

An English Man In SF

a diary of life as an immigrant

MB Forde

Ghosts, Legends, Folklore and Writing

Motorcycling in Hong Kong

On two wheels in Asia's World City

Tinkerbelle

Making her way back to Neverland one day at a time...

The Naked Listener's Weblog

Hearing ordinary lives talk

Basti in China

Random stuff from Hong Kong and China

Making Maps: DIY Cartography

Resources and Ideas for Making Maps

Pointless Diagrams

A new, meaningless diagram drawn daily, just 'cause.

This Blog Needs Words

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The London Column

Reports from the life of a city, from 1951 to now, compiled by David Secombe

Vintagerock's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

