Lingo carousel

Thursday 9 July 2015, 1.00am HKT


I N N E R   S P A C E   &   O U T E R   R I N G S

spacehead

HERE’S something to ground up your brains and feed the bits to the cat.

For those who know two or more languages, which one do you feel your voice sounds most attractive in?

Let’s not get tangled up for now in that nonsense called ‘correct’ grammar or even mastery of the language. Let’s just stick to aesthetically pleasant impressions.

(Sounds of raucous laughter in the background.)

Outer Rings

fistful of languages

I’ll just tell you what my friends have told me:—

I seem cute and adorable when speaking in French.

I seem most manly and decisive in German.

I seem most approachable yet eccentric in Italian.

I seem most credible and flexible in English.

I seem most classless yet indecisive in Chinese.

I seem to be in trouble in Arabic.

Asteroids on Steroids

SpankGirls1903

Of course, I’m most attractive in Farsi to my Iranian female friends!

Unbelievable as it may sound, but I can pick up Farsi within a fortnight* just on my own (without books or any instruction) to the point of being able to hold a fairly digestible conversation in it. With Iranian ladies, to be exact. Anybody else, meh, not so good.

* Fortnight = 2 weeks to our American readers

Inner Space

wrongdirection

In the other direction, this is how I feel inside:—

I feel over the moon with money in my pocket.

Sorry … let’s start again…

I feel wilful and least restricted in English.

I feel most able to solve problems on the fly in Chinese.

I feel relaxed and natural in French.

I feel most arrogant and orderly in German.

I feel most calculating in Italian.

I feel most in trouble in Arabic.

I feel absolutely wonderful in Farsi in the company of Iranian ladies!

Shh! You can’t tell my chicks about the Iranian bits! No you can’t…

Feel free to tell us what your native language is below, the languages you speak (or think you speak), and the ones you feel you sound nicest in.

I’ll supply the laughing gas if your tale is really pathetic.

signature tnl transparent

Originally scribbled on 23 April 2015

__________

Images: Spacehead via georgiewho | Fistful of languages by Alexander Gross | Spank girls via 4chan | Wrong Way via c4c. Featured image via macgasm.net (visible only on mobile).

© The Naked Listener’s Weblog, 2015 | Site | About.me | FB | Twitter | Policy & Legal | B15215

2 Responses to “Lingo carousel”

  1. Ed Hurst said

    All I can say is that my ears must hear things most Americans don’t because when I’ve used German or Dutch in Europe, the locals didn’t have a clue I was American.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Diary of a Psychokiller

take a trip with me to the darkside

Lipsync Lawyer

Stop bitching and know your law differently

Daring Fireball

Hearing ordinary lives talk

Girl in Florence

A Tuscan Texan immersed in Florentine life: passionate about food & wine | random moments | and travel

One Drawing Daily

I've been drawing and painting and learning (almost) every day since the 9th September 2014

An English Man In SF

a diary of life as an immigrant

MB Forde

Ghosts, Legends, Folklore and Writing

Motorcycling in Hong Kong

On two wheels in Asia's World City

Tinkerbelle

Making her way back to Neverland one day at a time...

The Naked Listener's Weblog

Hearing ordinary lives talk

Basti in China

Random stuff from Hong Kong and China

Making Maps: DIY Cartography

Resources and Ideas for Making Maps

Pointless Diagrams

A new, meaningless diagram drawn daily, just 'cause.

This Blog Needs Words

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The London Column

Reports from the life of a city, from 1951 to now, compiled by David Secombe

Vintagerock's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

